Unexpected Gift

2xLP/2xCD
It was a seven-year creative process from the first rehearsal until this release – and you can hear on these 20 (!) songs how much this band has invested. With Unexpected Gift, Kick Joneses are making themselves and us the gift of a new level of songwriting, texting, singing an arranging. What is striking is the volitionally eclectic approach. The leitmotiv of this record is that there is none. It is the amazing variety which makes it indeed an Unexpected Gift. There are pulsative and danceable songs next to fluffy pop tunes and rather rock orientated ones. But Kick Joneses are also entering new terrain after all these years. The three ballads marking this premiere are remarkably non-cheesy and wholehearted.
It is due to the quality awareness and inner freedom of this band that it dares to come in the market with a double LP and CD; they are set on a self consistent album, a coherent artwork in an with an assured sense of style, a well-thought-out musical dramaturgy and a first-class production.

to Rookie Shop

to Flight13 Shop

Kick Joneses

The Walter Elf follow up with Beppo and Frank of the Spermbirds.

www.kick-joneses.de

True Freaks Union

coloured LP & CD
Kick Joneses take influence from not only the pop punk scene, but also rock, Britpop, indie and put it all into a blender to create catchy singalong anthems. The album is also available on limited edition coloured vinyl gatefold sleeve, with bonus track plus a free download code!

to Flight13 Shop

Tales Of Discontent

LP/CD (sold out!)
The third album of the K-town gang: Powerpop,,late 70s/ early 80s-Punk and wave hailing their old heroes XTC, Gang of Four, Descendents or Stiff Little Fingers.

Who Put The Voodoo Into Punkrock?

CD (LP sold out!)
The second longplayer filled with 14 hits, reaching from fast punkrock, midtempo stompers with trumpet and organ to catchy pop songs and one ska track with dub outro.

to Flight13 Shop

© 2012 Rookie Records

Unexpected Gift

2xLP/2xCD
Sieben Jahre dauerte der Entstehungsprozess von der ersten Probe bis zur Veröffentlichung. Und man hört den 20 (!) Liedern an, dass die Band viel investiert hat. Mit Unexpected Gift schenken Kick Joneses sich und uns ein neues Level an Songwriting, Text, Gesang und Arrangements. Auffällig ist der gewollt eklektizistische Ansatz: Der musikalische rote Faden dieser Platte ist, dass es keinen gibt. Die unglaubliche Vielfalt ist es, die dieses Album zu einem sprichwörtlichen Unexpected Gift macht. So kommen rhythmisch tanzbare Nummern neben flockig poppigen Titeln und rockig inspirierten Nummern gleichermaßen zum Zug. Und dann betreten die Kickies nach all diesen Jahren ein neues Terrain. Endlich!, denn die drei Balladen, die diese Premiere markieren, kommen so bemerkenswert unkitschig und aufrichtig daher.
Dass sich Kick Joneses gleich mit einer Doppel-LP und -CD auf den Markt trauen, ist dem Qualitätsbewusstsein und der inneren Freiheit der Band zu verdanken: sie setzt auf ein in sich geschlossenes Album mit stimmigem, stilsicherem Artwork, durchdachter Dramaturgie und erstklassiger Produktion.

zum Rookie Shop

zum Flight13 Shop

Kick Joneses

Die Walter Elf-Nachfolgeband.

www.kick-joneses.de

True Freaks Union

farbige LP & CD
Das stärkste Kickies-Album in anbetungswürdigem Artwork! Hier wühlen sechs Musiker in ihrer musikalischen Vergangenheit (Beatles, New Wave, Post-Punk) und lassen sich dennoch von jüngeren Entwicklungen inspirieren (Britpop, Neo-Rock ‘n Roll, Hamburger Schule). Nie plagiatorisch, immer Kick Joneses. Die LP gibt’s inkl. Bonustrack und Downloadcode!

zum Flight13 Shop

Tales Of Discontent

LP/CD (ausverkauft!)
Das dritte Album beschert uns 14 Songs mit Powerpop-, 80s- und Rockeinflüssen. Die alten Helden XTC, Gang of Four und All lassen grüßen.

Who Put The Voodoo Into Punkrock?

CD (LP ausverkauft!)
Der zweite Longplayer mit schnellen Punkrock-Hymnen, mid-tempo Schiebern mit Trompete und 60s-Orgel, Ohrwurm-Pop-Hits und einer Ska-Nummer mit Dub-Outro.

zum Flight13 Shop

© 2012 Rookie Records